Daniel Dvoress wins Super High Roller Bowl Bahamas for $4,080,000

Daniel Dvoress scooped the Super High Roller Bowl Bahamas at the partypoker LIVE MILLIONS CPP, a victory worth $4,080,000 that takes the Canadians career tournament earnings over the $15million mark.

By: Andrew Burnett

The 31-year old Russian-born pro accounted for two of the fifty-one $250k entries, the final eight sharing a $12,750,000 prizepool where the top five would all take down 7-figure scores.

Former SHRB champ Justin Bonomo only just made it to the money, busting in 8th place when his triple-barrel bluff attempt backfired against Erik Seidel, the latter having turned a full house.

partypoker pro Jason Koon was looking to make it a one-two for the sponsors, teammate Anatoy Filatov winning the $10k High Roller, but those hopes ended in 7th spot when he lost two important races.

With highroller experts Steve O’Dwyer and Seth Davies following Koon to the rail, the legendary Erik Seidel accompanying them in 4th, all eyes were on Kathy Lehne, the US pro seeking to become the first female winner of the SHRB.

It wasn’t to be for the Texan, though, as she watched on in horror as her pocket aces were cracked by a two-outer hitting on the river for Wai Leong Chan. Third place and $1,785,000 was excellent reward for some very fine play, almost tripling Lehne’s previous tournament cashes.

Heads-up between Dvoress and his highly-regarded Malaysian opponent saw the Canadian slowly grind his foe down, finally closing it out when his A9 held up against the inevitable short-stacked shove.

With his win, Dvoress joins Brian Rast, Rainer Kempe, Christoph Vogelsang, Justin Bonomo and Ike Haxton in the exclusive SHRB champions club.

He told reporters afterwards: “It all kind of came together in this event…this is the most prepared I’ve felt for a tournament relative to the rest of the field. I felt really comfortable all day and coasted through it without emotional swings.”

Final results

1 Daniel Dvoress $4,080,000
2 Wai Leong Chan $2,677,500
3 Kathy Lehne $1,785,000
4 Erik Seidel $1,275,000
5 Seth Davies $1,020,000
6 Steve O’Dwyer $765,000
7 Jason Koon $637,500
8 Justin Bonomo $510,000



Other Poker news

Leave a Reply

To post comments you need to Login or register your free HighstakesDB account.


No comments have been posted yet.