WSOP 2017: Upeshka De Silva & Benjamin Zamani Win 2nd Career Bracelets

Benjamin Zamani was the 2nd pro to capture their second bracelet during yesterday's WSOP action

Events #3 and #4 of this year's WSOP were both won by players collecting their second career WSOP bracelets. What is more, both Upeshka De Silva and Benjamin Zamani both won their first bracelets two years ago, and both won them in $1,500 NLHE events!

De Silva outlasted 368 other players in event #3 $3,000 No-Limit Hold’em Shootout to win his second bracelet and $229,923 in prize money. It was a tough final table for De Silva featuring two other former bracelet winners in US pros Taylor Paur and Jean Gaspard, as well as a former WPT champ with over $7.5m in live tourney cashes to his name, Olivier "Livb112" Busquet. In the Paur and Gaspard were the first to leave the final 10, with Busquet busting in 5th.

After his victory De Silva joked with a WSOP reporter that he had probably enjoyed his last ever bracelet win saying, “I told my friends before I won my first bracelet that I was going to win two, so I don’t know if that means I’m capped now."

Event #3 $3,000 No Limit Hold'em Shootout Final Table Results

Place Player Name Country Prize (USD)
1 Upeshka De Silva USA $229,923
2 Louis Helm United States $142,115
3 Linglin Zeng China $103,449
4 Jan Schwippert Germany $76,018
5 Olivier Busquet USA $56,397
6 Casey Carroll USA $42,246
7 John Richards USA $31,955
8 Mark Mcmillin USA $24,410
9 Jean Gaspard USA $18,832
10 Taylor Paur USA $14,675


Meanwhile Benjamin Zamani earned his second piece of gold jewellery in event #4 $1,500 Omaha Hi-Lo Split 8 or Better for $238,620, topping a big field with 905 entrants. Unlike De Silva, Zamani was by far the biggest winner among the final tablists with just short of $4m in lifetime live tournament winnings, and he used his experience to battle his way to bracelet number two. It's been a good year for Zawani who was named WPT Player of the Year for Season 15 this April after his three runner-up finishes during the season.

Event #4 $1,500 Omaha Hi-Lo Split 8 or Better Final Table Results

Place Player Country Payout
1 Benjamin Zamani USA $238,620
2 Jared Hemingway USA $147,428
3 Alex Ferrari USA $103,471
4 Ryan Paluf USA $73,647
5 Gary Vick USA $53,171
6 Forrest Auel USA $38,946
7 Scott Buller USA $28,948
8 Martin Corpuz USA $21,839
9 Dustin Sitar USA $16,726

By the end of play today we will have two more WSOP champs crowned as both the $111,111 High Roller for One Drop and the $2,500 Mixed Triple Draw Lowball events are currently playing their final tables.


Other Poker news

Leave a Reply

To post comments you need to Login or register your free HighstakesDB account.


No comments have been posted yet.