Chris Ferguson Wins 2017 WSOP Player of the Year

It will come as no surprise to anyone following the action at this year's WSOPE that the WSOP Player of the Year award has officially been won by former Full Tilt co-owner and six time WSOP champion, Chris "Jesus" Ferguson.

The news came through via the WSOP twitter feed as Ferguson's only remaining rival for the POY title, John Racener, was eliminated from the WSOPE Main Event yesterday afternoon.

Prior to the start of the Main Event there were only two players in with a chance of eclipsing Ferguson; Racener and Ryan Hughes. Hughes campaign ended after he busted on Day 1b leaving only Racener, who needed to make up 136 points on Ferguson in the POY race. His hopes were dashed on Day 2 however;


Chris Ferguson made WSOP 2017 Player of the Year the moment John Racener (above) busted the WSOPE Main Event on Day 2.

Ferguson's victory is sure to rankle with many players who feel that he shouldn't be able to compete for such a prestigious honour in poker after he remained silent about his part in the collapse of Full Tilt which almost cost his customers several hundred million dollars in misappropriated player funds.

However, theres' no denying Ferguson's play over the Summer and over these past couple of weeks at the Kings Casino in Rozvadov have certainly earned him the title. In Las Vegas he made a record (alongside Racener) 17 cashes, including two top four finishes in $10k Championship events, ending the series leading the POY race which earned him a free entry into the €10,350 Main Event (although he busted on day 1b, well short of the money). He continued his great form at the WSOPE, making another 6 cashes from the 11 events, including picking up his 6th career WSOP bracelet in Event #7: €1,650 Pot-Limit Omaha Hi-Lo 8 or Better for €39,289

Ferguson will now join the likes of two-time winner Daniel Negreanu, Erick Lindgren, Jeff Madsen, Greg Merson, Frank Kassela, Jeff Lisandro, George Danzer, Mike Gorodinsky, and Jason Mercier as a Player of the Year winner. Alongside Greg Merson, he is the only winner to have also won the Main Event, which he took down in 2000.

For his victory Ferguson will receive a free entry into next year's WSOP Main Event as well as a banner of his Jesus-like image on a banner displayed at the Rio alongside his fellow POY winners throughout the WSOP.


Other Poker news

Leave a Reply

To post comments you need to Login or register your free HighstakesDB account.


No comments have been posted yet.