Nick Petrangelo Wins PokerStars Championship Player of the Year and $100,000

Prior to the open events kicking off at this years PokerStars Caribbean adventure in the Bahamas, the winners of six PokerStars Championship tournament leaderboards from 2017 were invited to play a winner-takes-all $100,000 sit and go and to award what will be the one and only PokerStars Championship Player of the Year (as the PSC is reverting back to the more popular EPT name this year).

Petrangelo, who won the PSC leaderboard in Macau after final tabling two of the high-roller events, was joined by subsequent PSC leaderboard winners Vladimir Troyanovskiy (Sochi), Chris “Big Huni” Hunichen (Panama), Daniel Dvoress (Monte Carlo), Bryn Kenney (Bahamas), and Koray Aldemir (Barcelona). The six players were also awarded Main Event packages worth $17k including entry fees and expenses.

Petrangelo was the first to make a mark in the sit and go as he all but eliminated online tourney legend Chris "Big Huni" Hunichen, who earned his place here after making four final tables at PSC Panama. It's been a breakout year on the live circuit for Hunichen who earned his biggest ever payday of $358,677 after finishing runner-up in a $5k WSOP event in June. He then went on to surpass this when he took home $400,000 for winning the partypoker Caribbean Poker Party Super High Roller in November. However, this wasn't to be 'Big Huni's' day after he was crippled in a race with Petrangelo when his pocket Jacks couldn't outlast Petrangtelo's Big Slick. With just 5bb's left he was out shortly after.


Above: Chris 'Big Huni' Hunichen had a great 2017. Not only did he surpass $10,000,000 in online tourney cashes and top the PSC Panama leaderboard, but he also made his two biggest ever tourney scores in live events, including $400,000 for winning a partypoker Super High Roller. Unfortunately for Hunichen he was first out of this particular tourney!

PSC Monte Carlo leaderboard champ Daniel Dvoress was next to drop when he was KO'd by Sochi leaderboard topper Vladimir Troyanovskiy's A 10, having commited his chips with A 6.Troyanovskiy was at it again soon after as he dispatched Germany's Koray Aldermir. Aldermir was down to 7bb's when he went for broke with A♠5♠ but found himself in deep trouble with Troyanovskiy turned over A♣6♣. That trouble got even deeper when a six fell on the flop. Aldemir couldn't recover and fell in 4th place.

Despite Troyanovskiy's two scalps, by the time play was three-handed, Petrangelo had more chips than Kenney and Troyanovskiy put together, and he soon made that chip stack even bigger after taking out Bryn Kenney when the latter shoved with Q♦T♠ and was quickly called by Petrangelo with the dominating A♥T♥.

Petrangelo sealed the deal heads-up, finally getting rid of an initially resistant Vladimir Troyanovskiy when the Russian's A♥2♦ couldn't find a way past Petrangelo's A♣8♦.

So congratulations to Nick Petraneglo who will forever have the unique honour of being the PokerStars Championship Player of the year!


Other Poker news

Leave a Reply

To post comments you need to Login or register your free HighstakesDB account.


No comments have been posted yet.