Shaun Deeb Officially Wins WSOP POY

It’s official. Shaun Deeb has bagged the WSOP Player of the Year title, fighting off challengers and detractors alike to take a mathematically uncatchable lead in the race for the crown won last year by Chris Jesus Ferguson

By: Andrew Burnett

The 2018 WSOP Player of the Year race saw Deeb bring forward a lead from his summer adventures in Vegas at the WSOP proper, multi-tabling live in his bid to build up points, before heading off to the Czech Republic for the WSOP Europe at Kings Casino in the hope of tying up the title.

Earlier this month, Deeb told CardPlayer’s Julio Rodriguez that a trip to the WSOP Europe was probably unprofitable… when you consider the buy-ins and the travel expenses”. He added: “If it was strictly about money, I would never bother going there, but I really want to win POY, and this is the best shot I’ve had at doing it”.

2018 WSOP POY Leaderboard

1 Shaun Deeb 5,073.92
2 Ben Yu 3,746.04
3 Joe Cada 3,531.86
4 John Hennigan 3,499.91
5 Scott Bohlman 3,155.88
6 Michael Addamo 3,028.78
7 Paul Volpe 2,859.76
8 Anthony Zinno 2,593.34
9 Eric Baldwin 2,516.30
10 Romain Lewis 2,460.14

With his remarkable Vegas run accounting for 15 cashes worth over $2.4million, and winning his 3rd and 4th gold bracelets to boot, the only real danger was someone going on a heater in Rozvadov this month – but when Michael Addamo busted the Main Event it was all over – Deeb deservedly taking the POY crown.

Deeb now joins an illustrious list of poker’s finest that includes Jason Mercier, Allen Cunningham and two-time winner Daniel Negreanu...


Other Poker news

Leave a Reply

To post comments you need to Login or register your free HighstakesDB account.


No comments have been posted yet.