Roger Teska Scoops $2million partypoker MILLIONS World Win

The biggest names in the poker world were once again outwitted by a relative tournament amateur late last night, Roger Teska fending off Steve O Dwyer to lift the $2million first prize at the partypoker Caribbean Poker Party MILLIONS World…

By: Andrew Burnett

The $25,500 buy-in tournament followed the script of the previous day’s $50k Super High Roller won by Venezuelan horse trainer Giuseppe Iadisernia, famous highstakes pros - Rainer Kempe, Ben Tollerene, Niall Farrell and Steve O’Dwyer - lined up against lesser-lights as the serious money kicked in.

Teska, primarily a highstakes cash game player, may be familiar from another Caribbean ‘adventure’, his drunken antics at the 2014 PCA making the headlines, Howard Swains writing how Teska was “snarling and hiccuping his way through four days of play, flipping the bird to television cameras, refusing to play ball with tournament reporters and providing a one-man chorus of "Cocktails!"

Yesterday’s final table saw none of that behaviour, although after his huge win Teska admitted: "There might be some partying the next couple days."

Not everyone was best pleased at the lack of a live feed from the event, although with the Main Event midway through and the $250k SHR kicking off it’s not particularly unusual for something to be left out.

In any event, the 13 hour final day came to a dramatic conclusion when – as Joey Ingram tweets above - Teska and O’Dwyer met heads-up to decide the crown and the $2million top prize.

As Teska stated afterwards, "These guys know when to shove, what hands to shove with, and I don't. Steve is a better player than I am so I wanted to play bigger pots."

That happened almost immediately, Teska somehow surviving a queens vs kings for his tournament life and then pretty much sealed the victory when he caught a huge bluff.

"I definitely wasn't expecting to win coming into this,“ Teska explained after his massive win – and probably he wasn’t alone in that assessment.

Final Table Results

1 Roger Teska $2,000,000
2 Steve O'Dwyer $1,300,000
3 Charles La Boissoniere $1,000,000
4 Paul Tedeschi $700,000
5 Andras Nemeth $550,000
6 Ben Tollerene $450,000
7 Rainer Kempe $350,000
8 Niall Farrell $300,000
9 Joao Vieira $250,000



Other Poker news

Leave a Reply

To post comments you need to Login or register your free HighstakesDB account.


No comments have been posted yet.