Moneymaker and Oppenheim Chosen for Poker Hall of Fame

Chris Moneymaker and David Oppenheim became the 57th and 58th inductees to the Poker Hall of Fame, the duo receiving the most votes from their peers and joining the likes of Phil Hellmuth, Chip Reese and Doyle Brunson in poker’s most elite club…

By: Andrew Burnett

The voting panel of 30 living Poker Hall of Fame members, along with a 21-person media panel, chose 2003 Main Event winner Moneymaker and Los Angeles highstakes cash game pro Oppenheim ahead of eight others on the shortlist.

Moneymaker is credited with almost single-handedly turning poker into a mainstream game, his online satellite to World Champion run still one of the most amazing feats in poker history and well-remembered by fans…

Upon receiving news of his induction, Moneymaker stated: "I'm very honored... very happy," adding: “It's great for my kids -- it'll be a cool thing for them to see when they grow up."

Oppenheim has spent 25 years at the top of the game, one of the most-feared cash game pros in the world and still able to impress the best of the new generation…

David said of his award: “Being recognized as one of the all-time greats by my peers is truly humbling and I am honored to have been selected to the Poker Hall of Fame”.

Ty Stewart, Poker Hall of Fame Governing Council member, stated: “In the record-setting 50th year of the World Series of Poker, we are reminded how critical Chris Moneymaker has been to influencing recreational players to pursue their dreams and he will certainly be amongst the most important figures of all time”.

Stewart added: “Oppenheim is a pro’s pro and has finally received his long overdue recognition.”

The octet who missed out this year, but will be eligible again next year, were Chris Bjorin, David Chiu, Eli Elezra, Antonio Esfandiari, Chris Ferguson, Ted Forrest, Mike Matusow and Huckleberry Seed.


Other Poker news

Leave a Reply

To post comments you need to Login or register your free HighstakesDB account.


No comments have been posted yet.