Shaun Deeb Wins SHRPO High Roller Title For $778,300

Shaun Deeb took down his first title of the year with a $778,300 scoop of the Seminole Hard Rock Poker Open High Roller last night, defeating Albert Daher heads-up for the title…

By: Andrew Burnett

A field of 115 entries to the $25k tournament had smashed the $2million guarantee, the High Roller event one of a quartet known as the SHRPO Big Four all playing down to a winner yesterday in Hollywood, Florida.

Deeb had finished runner-up in the same event last year, and looked determined to improve on that as he picked up the first knockout of the final table…

Deeb: A♦ 9♦
Wantman: 7♠ 7♦

Board: 9♣ 4♥ 2♥ Q♣ 8♦

That set the tone for a final table that Deeb would rarely not lead, stating afterwards: “I got a lot of chips early, I ran perfect, won every key all in…won like three flips.”

Deeb took out first Ray, and then Miles, when the latter race saw last year’s WSOP Player of the Year holding the pocket sevens this time, and when it came down to heads-up against Albert Daher it was, remarkably, Deeb taking on those sevens, the title at stake…

Deeb: A♣ Q♥
Daher: 7♠ 7♦

Board: J♦ 10♣ 8♠ 10♠ Q♦

“It was just crazy. I got very lucky,” Deeb told reporters after his victory. “I just made the nuts every hand. In an edited broadcast, you don’t see how often I had it, but these guys were great players who were so frustrated because I only had to bluff like twice all day.”

Final results

1 Shaun Deeb $778,300
2 Albert Daher $545,375
3 Olivier Busquet $340,860
4 Andy Andrejevic $235,760
5 TK Miles $150,545
6 Josh Ray $110,780
7 Jake Schwartz $90,895
8 Matthew Wantman $76,695



Other Poker news

Leave a Reply

To post comments you need to Login or register your free HighstakesDB account.


No comments have been posted yet.