Bertrand 'ElkY' Grospellier Wins the WSOPE Colossus for €190,375

Bertrand ElkY Grospellier has won the WSOPE Event #15 - The Colossus. The Frenchman topped the 2177 entrant strong field - with 561 rebuys - and takes home a prize of €190,375 for his strong performance.

By: Mark Patrickson

Third Time Lucky

This victory marks ElkY’s first live tournament win in over seven years. The professional video gamer is predominantly known for his online exploits, but he has had an amazing year in the live arena.

Shaun Deeb pushed him close but eventually gave way in 11th place. His failure to win also cost him dearly in the WSOP Player of the Year race which was won by Daniel Negreanu.

ElkY took three bites at the cherry before booking his spot into Day Two. By the time that arrived the prize pool stood at €1,300,550 after a full week’s play.

Final Table Time

Deeb lasted barely more than 15 minutes on the final day with Pasquale Braco following him out the door. The final table was now set.

Quickly, two more Italians were heading for the exit, Francesco Candelari and Alessandro Pezzoli, and Ukraine’s Sergii Karpov wasn’t far behind. It looked like the show was going to be over in minutes if the action carried on like this.

The all-ins kept on coming thick and fast, but somehow the smaller stack always seemed to win. Two hours later though, Christoph Peper from Germany ran his ace-ten into ace-king and got no help from the gods. Now it was five-handed.

ElkY then helped to cripple Dieter Becker’s stack with a much-needed double up. Becker went from first to fifth and left the stage soon after.

Fifteen minutes later it was time for heads-up, which only lasted half an hour itself.

Israeli Avraham Dayan called off a four bet jam with ATs only to find himself staring at ElkY’s pocket tens. A turned gutshot was a teaser but ElkY held and was crowned champion.

A fitting end to a great series as the curtains came down for another year.

Final Results

1 Bertrand Grospellier €190,375
2 Avraham Dayan €117,630
3 Marian Kubis €86,172
4 Mick Heder €63,670
5 Dieter Becker €47,452
6 Christoph Peper €35,674
7 Sergii Karpov €27,057
8 Alessandro Pezzoli €20,703
9 Francesco Candelari €15,984



Other Poker news

Leave a Reply

To post comments you need to Login or register your free HighstakesDB account.


No comments have been posted yet.